Calendar Of Events


Featured Videos

Kilbree v St Colums JAHC Final...
view all clips

Carbery Monthly Award Banquet   05/03/2018

The Inaugural Carbery GAA Monthly Awards Banquet took place last Friday night in the Westlodge Hotel Bantry.

Having taking the decision last year to discontinue the Carbery All Stars, the Carbery Board came up with a novel idea to honour the various clubs, groups, teams and individuals who have helped to ensure that the GAA in Carbery, in all its different forms, is well represented on the County, Provisional and National Stage.

These awards covered the vast variety of the ethos of Gaelic Athletic Association in the Carbery Division from Scór, to camogie to schools football and everything in between.

Special guest on the night was Cork Ladies Camogie Manager, Paudie Murray along with County Board P.R.O Donal Leahy.

M.C, Aidan O Rourke opened proceedings by welcoming All Ireland Scór Champions, Carbery Rangers, who gave us an outstanding performance of their All Ireland winning composition.

After a few words from Pat Quill Manager of The West lodge Hotel and Joe Crowley, Chairman Of the Carbery Board,  the large crowd in attendance were treated to a beautiful buffet meal while been entertained  by the Scór groups from Clann na nGael and Tadhg Mac Carthaigh,.

Following the meal, the awards were presented to the monthly winners

March: The Carbery Scor Committee. Four Clubs competed in the All Ireland Scor na nOg Finals 2017 in The Waterfront Theatre in Belfast.

April: Michael Collins (Clonakilty) for his contribution to Inter - County Refereeing.

May: Michael Cahalane (Bandon) & Luke Meade (Newcestown) for their contribution to Cork Senior Hurling in their win over Tipperary.

June: Argideen Rangers Cork County Junior B Football Champions 2017.

July: Skibbereen C.S. Munster Colleges Champions winners of Cork County & Munster U16 1/2 Football.

August: Ciarán Nyhan (Ballinascarty) & Ronan Mc Carthy (St.Oliver Plunketts) who were members of the All Ireland winning Cork u17 Hurling Team 2017.

September: Orla Cronin (Enniskeane) & Libby Coppinger (St.Colums) members of the All Ireland winning Cork Camogie Team 2017.

October: Newcestown Camogie - Intermediate Camogie league & county champions 2017.

November: Kilmacabea - Carbery Junior A Football Champions 2017 for the first time in their history.

December: Alan O Connor (St.Colums) for his outstanding contribution to Cork Senior Football & Emma Spillane (Bantry Blues) Cork Ladies Footballer and All Star 2017.

Medals were also presented to the referees who officiated at the various West Cork Finals last year